November Show/BFA Brainstorming

So after a few weeks of seeing other peoples blog posts and how much physical research they have done I finally decided I needed to go out and try to find some inspiration for what to do at the November show as well as BFA project. I tried to think of the best place to go to help influence my thought process, so of course I went to Goodwill.

Over the past year or so I have started a modest collection of vinyl records and I’m always interested in what kind of records I can find in the discount section of record stores and places like Goodwill. So on my trip to my local Goodwill I decided to start my search in the vinyl section. After looking at every single record in a few of the sections I finally came across a familiar record that I knew I had to have. The man, the myth, the legend: Chuck Mangione.

For any fans of the show King of the Hill, Chuck should be a familiar face. For those unfamiliar, Chuck Mangione is a smooth jazz flugelhorn player and composer who was a recurring character on King of the Hill (voiced by himself) who was the spokesperson for Mega Lo Mart, a Wal Mart style store. The regular joke with Chuck’s many appearances on the show is that, no matter what he is playing, he always slips back into playing the main riff of “Feels So Good” which is the title track of the record I managed to find.

This was a good personal victory for my record collection and a good starting point for my though process. After, digging through the rest of the vinyl Goodwill had to offer I decided to focus on the November show and what I was going to do for it. Since our theme is lunch and I typically like to stay as close as I can to the theme assigned I decided to walk around the store and search for things food related. I made a quick circle around the store and eventually came across the book section which had all kinds of cook books. I glanced at the titles of these cookbooks and pulled out a few that seemed interesting to me. The first book I pulled out was called  Microwave Cooking by Cecilia Norman:

I skimmed through a few of the pages and found some great food photography from the 70’s as well as some very detailed illustrations of food. This along with the fact that everything in the book was meant to be nuked in a microwave was to much to pass up.

The next book I found did not have as interesting a title but it was larger and from the same year so I decided to give it a look. Better Homes and Gardens All-Time Favorite Recipes:

This cookbook, like the last one, had plenty of great 70’s food photography but what it lacked in illustrations it more than made up in MORE FOOD PHOTOGRAPHS.

These books gave me a few ideas for the November show but I haven’t yet decided on a final project yet. Times running out though so I will need to decide soon.

One final (non food related) book that I found that was quite interesting was a large all black book that stood out on the shelf. When I pulled it out the front cover read The Big Black Book:

This self help book seems to be filled with every answer to any question you could possibly have. Topics range anywhere from Travel to Medical Solutions to Personal Money Management to Sex and everything in between. I thought that this could end up being a good source of random inspiration for any projects I may have for the rest of the year and beyond.

Like always Goodwill did not let me down and has now helped me start to think more clearly about what I want to do in the coming weeks. I may need to make another trip or two to different thrift shops if I wish to go down the path of using the retro cookbooks as material but I am willing to make the sacrifice.

Standard

Leave a Reply

